Sud-Est (department)

Sud-Est is one of the ten departments of Haiti. It has an area of 2,034.10 km² and a population of 632,601 (2015). Its capital is Jacmel.

The Department of Sud-Est is subdivided into three arrondissements, which are further subdivided into ten communes.

  • Bainet Arrondissement
    • Bainet
    • Côtes-de-Fer
  • Belle-Anse Arrondissement
    • Belle-Anse
    • Anse-à-Pitres
    • Grand-Gosier
    • Thiotte
  • Jacmel Arrondissement
    • Jacmel
    • Cayes-Jacmel
    • La Vallée
    • Marigot

There are fifteen other smaller towns or villages, including: Banane, Bourcan-Bélier, Cavalier, Coutelas, Forêt-des-Pins, La Fond, La Vallée, Mare Rouge, Mayette, Mombin, Platon-Besace, Saint Antoine, Savane-Zombi, and Seguin.

Sud (department)

Sud is one of the ten departments of Haiti. It has an area of 2,653.60 square kilometers (1,024.56 sq mi) and a population of 774,976. Its capital is Les Cayes.

A significant part of the population in this department is of mixed race, people of Arab descent and from the Indian subcontinent. These southern parts of Haiti are where many resident Europeans descended to during tense political turmoil and, in more recent years, have returned and settled alongside black Haitians. Nowadays, this area of the country has become one of the most racially diverse (excluding Port-au-Prince).

The Department of Sud is subdivided into five arrondissements, which are further subdivided into nineteen communes.

  • Aquin Arrondissement
    • Aquin
    • Cavaillon
    • Saint-Louis du Sud
  • Chardonnières Arrondissement
    • Chardonnières
    • Les Anglais
    • Tiburon
  • Côteaux Arrondissement
    • Côteaux
    • Port-à-Piment
    • Roche-à-Bateaux
  • Les Cayes Arrondissement
    • Les Cayes
    • Camp-Perrin
    • Chantal
    • Île à Vache (island)
    • Maniche
    • Torbeck
  • Port-Salut Arrondissement
    • Port-Salut
    • Arniquet
    • Saint-Jean-du-Sud

Nord-Ouest (department)

Nord-Ouest is one of the ten departments of Haiti as well as the northernmost one. It has an area of 2,102.88 km² and a population of 728,807 (2015 Census). Its capital is Port-de-Paix.

Port-de-Paix, which was once a large exporter of coffee and bananas, now imports goods and produce from Miami. Once called Valparaiso by Columbus, there are still some lovely beaches and scenery. Tortuga Island, once the biggest pirate bases in the Caribbean is a popular tourist site and is represented frequently in films and movies based on piracy. Named for the smooth shape that reminded travelers of a turtle's shell, Tortuga's best beach is Pointe Saline at the western tip of the small island. This area is very dry and offers little shade but has a beautiful shoreline. At Les Palmiste on the eastern coast visit a pre-Columbian rock carving presumed to be of native Taino origin of a goddess at La Grotte au Bassin exists.

The Department of Nord-Ouest is subdivided into three arrondissements, which are further subdivided into ten communes.

  • Môle Saint Nicholas Arrondissement
    • Baie de Henne
    • Bombardopolis
    • Jean-Rabel
    • Môle Saint Nicholas
  • Port-de-Paix Arrondissement
    • Bassin Bleu
    • Chansolme
    • La Tortue
    • Port-de-Paix
  • Saint-Louis du Nord Arrondissement
    • Anse-à-Foleur
    • Saint-Louis du Nord

Ouest (department)

Ouest is one of the ten departments of Haiti. It is the jurisdictional seat of the national capital, the city of Port-au-Prince. It has an area of 4,982.56 square kilometers (1,923.78 sq mi) and a population of 4,029,705 (2015 Estimate). It borders the Dominican Republic to the east.

It is the second-largest department in Haiti after the Artibonite. Gonâve Island is also part of the Ouest Department. The department's stretch of coastline lies entirely in the Gulf of Gonâve.

The Department of Ouest is subdivided into five arrondissements, which are further subdivided into twenty communes.

  • Arcahaie Arrondissement (180,564)
    • Arcahaie (118,501)
    • Cabaret (62,063)
  • Croix-des-Bouquets Arrondissement (431,789)
    • Cornillon (54,254)
    • Croix-des-Bouquets (227,012)
    • Fonds-Verettes (45,491)
    • Ganthier (56,869)
    • Thomazeau (48,163)
  • La Gonâve Arrondissement (79,188)
    • Anse-à-Galets (56,890)
    • Pointe-à-Raquette (22,298)
  • Léogâne Arrondissement (463,140)
    • Grand-Goâve (124,135)
    • Léogâne (181,709)
    • Petit-Goâve (157,296)
  • Port-au-Prince Arrondissement (2,509,939)
    • Carrefour (465,019)
    • Cité Soleil (241,055)
    • Delmas (359,451)
    • Gressier (33,152)
    • Kenscoff (52,232)
    • Pétion-Ville (342,694)
    • Tabarre (118,477)
    • Port-au-Prince (897,859)

Nord-Est (department)

Nord-Est is one of the ten departments of Haiti. It has an area of 1,623 km², making it the smallest of all the departments. It had an estimated population of 393,967 as of 2015. Its capital is Fort-Liberté. It was a part of the Nord department.

It is bordered to the north by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Centre department, to the east by the Dominican Republic, and to the west by Nord. The Nord-Est forms part of the northern plains, a historic site of colonial plantations and a key area for the cultivation of chestnuts, the Armée Indigène of Toussaint Louverture, and anti-American rebels against the occupation of the 1930s.

The Department of Nord-Est is subdivided into four arrondissements, which are further subdivided into thirteen communes.

  • Fort-Liberté Arrondissement
    • Fort-Liberté
    • Ferrier
    • Perches
  • Ouanaminthe Arrondissement
    • Ouanaminthe
    • Capotille
    • Mont-Organisé
  • Trou-du-Nord Arrondissement
    • Trou-du-Nord
    • Caracol
    • Sainte-Suzanne
    • Terrier-Rouge
  • Vallières Arrondissement
    • Vallières
    • Carice
    • Mombin-Crochu


THIS'S HAITI teach and promote the best of Haiti has to offer.

Contact Info

Coming soon

Follow us on