Grand'Anse (department)

Previous Next

Grand'Anse (Haitian Creole: Grandans, English: Big Cove) is one of the ten departments of Haiti. Its capital is Jeremie.

The Grand'Anse department used to be part of the Sud department until 1962 when the new Grand'Anse department was created. The department was reduced further in 2003, with the creation of a new department of Nippes from Miragoâne and Anse-a-Veau arrondissements. 

Prior to the 2003 split, it had a population of around 600,000 (2002). Afterward, the population at the 2003 Census was 337,516. The area of the department (after the split) is 1,912 square kilometers (738 sq mi).

The Department of Grand'Anse is subdivided into three arrondissements, which are further subdivided into thirteen communes.

  • Arrondissement of Anse d'Hainault
    • Anse-d'Hainault
    • Dame-Marie
    • Les Irois
  • Arrondissement of Corail
    • Corail
    • Beaumont
    • Pestel
    • Roseaux
  • Arrondissement of Jérémie
    • Jérémie
    • Abricots
    • Bonbon
    • Chambellan
    • Moron
    • Marfranc