Nord-Ouest (department)

Nord-Ouest is one of the ten departments of Haiti as well as the northernmost one. It has an area of 2,102.88 km² and a population of 728,807 (2015 Census). Its capital is Port-de-Paix.

Port-de-Paix, which was once a large exporter of coffee and bananas, now imports goods and produce from Miami. Once called Valparaiso by Columbus, there are still some lovely beaches and scenery. Tortuga Island, once the biggest pirate bases in the Caribbean is a popular tourist site and is represented frequently in films and movies based on piracy. Named for the smooth shape that reminded travelers of a turtle's shell, Tortuga's best beach is Pointe Saline at the western tip of the small island. This area is very dry and offers little shade but has a beautiful shoreline. At Les Palmiste on the eastern coast visit a pre-Columbian rock carving presumed to be of native Taino origin of a goddess at La Grotte au Bassin exists.

The Department of Nord-Ouest is subdivided into three arrondissements, which are further subdivided into ten communes.

  • Môle Saint Nicholas Arrondissement
    • Baie de Henne
    • Bombardopolis
    • Jean-Rabel
    • Môle Saint Nicholas
  • Port-de-Paix Arrondissement
    • Bassin Bleu
    • Chansolme
    • La Tortue
    • Port-de-Paix
  • Saint-Louis du Nord Arrondissement
    • Anse-à-Foleur
    • Saint-Louis du Nord