Sud (department)

Sud is one of the ten departments of Haiti. It has an area of 2,653.60 square kilometers (1,024.56 sq mi) and a population of 774,976. Its capital is Les Cayes.

A significant part of the population in this department is of mixed race, people of Arab descent and from the Indian subcontinent. These southern parts of Haiti are where many resident Europeans descended to during tense political turmoil and, in more recent years, have returned and settled alongside black Haitians. Nowadays, this area of the country has become one of the most racially diverse (excluding Port-au-Prince).

The Department of Sud is subdivided into five arrondissements, which are further subdivided into nineteen communes.

  • Aquin Arrondissement
    • Aquin
    • Cavaillon
    • Saint-Louis du Sud
  • Chardonnières Arrondissement
    • Chardonnières
    • Les Anglais
    • Tiburon
  • Côteaux Arrondissement
    • Côteaux
    • Port-à-Piment
    • Roche-à-Bateaux
  • Les Cayes Arrondissement
    • Les Cayes
    • Camp-Perrin
    • Chantal
    • Île à Vache (island)
    • Maniche
    • Torbeck
  • Port-Salut Arrondissement
    • Port-Salut
    • Arniquet
    • Saint-Jean-du-Sud